Support Home Portal Log in
Open navigation

Destination Dispatching

Destination Dispatching allows managers to quickly dispatch drivers to an address. For example, if you manage a fleet of ambulances or security vehicles, the "manager" is able to choose and dispatch a driver that has logged on for duty, and is nearest to the requested address.  

Introduction Video:

Overview Brochure

Download Here

TG Live

Required User Permissions

To view the destination dispatch interface on the live tracking page, the user requires the Destination Dispatch Manager permission.

This permission allows the user to

  • Manage destination dispatch requests for the current organisation
    • Viewing created dispatch requests
    • Creating new requests
    • Cancel requests
    • un-assigning a driver and re-assigning a driver to a dispatch request.

To create a destination dispatch request the following is required:

  • Title
  • Address or location to where the driver will be dispatched
  • Description of the request

The driver is optional, this allows a manager to create multiple dispatch requests and assign them to a driver at a later stage. The location field can be populated by searching for an address or entering coordinates in the field provided. This will drop a marker on the map, which may also be dragged. The “Send Request” button will create the request and send a notification to the driver, and the “Clear Request” button clears all the fields for the current dispatch request.

A dispatch request created without a driver will appear in the list as a request with “<No Driver Assigned>” and a “Unassigned” status. The “Assign Driver”, “Cancel Dispatch Request” and “View on Map” function buttons will be available for that dispatch request.

When a driver logs on for duty, they will appear in the list of drivers along with the asset name they have logged on with, as well as the time since they’ve logged on. If a driver is selected when creating a dispatch request, the Driver name will appear on the request along with the status of the request – which will be “Sent”. In this state, the function buttons available are the “Unassign Driver”, “Cancel Dispatch Request” and “View on Map”. 

Each subsequent request created will appear at the top of the list. This applies to recently modified requests too. 

The Destination Dispatch Manager can also filter Drivers in the asset list dropdown to see All Drivers, Busy Drivers and Available Drivers. 

Dispatch Function Buttons

Assign Driver

The green check mark button on a dispatch request, which allows the manager to assign the request to a driver that is logged on for duty if the state of the request is not "Completed", "Cancelled" or "InProgress". This will populate the dispatch requests details. The title, location and description will be uneditable, and the driver list will be selected in order to focus your attention on selecting a driver.

Once selected, the options available are “Assign Driver” – which sends the selected driver a notification and changes the state of the request; and “Cancel Assign” – which clears the populated dispatch request details and resets the form to allow a dispatch request to be created again. 

Unassign Driver

The blue cross mark button on a dispatch request, which allows a manager to unassign the driver from a dispatch request if the state of the request is not "Completed", "Cancelled" or "InProgress". This will remove a driver from the request and change the state of the request to  “Unassigned”, allowing it to be assigned to a new driver or cancelled. 

Cancel Dispatch Request

The red trashcan button on a dispatch request, which allows a manager to cancel a request if a request has not been "Completed". This prompts the manager to enter a cancellation reason, which will be sent as a notification to the assigned driver (if a driver has been assigned). This will update the description of the request with the cancellation reason and change the state to "Cancelled". 

Completed or cancelled requests will remain in the list as a log for the manager and you are no longer able to interact with the dispatch request.

Mobile

Before a dispatch request assignee can have dispatch requests assigned to them by the dispatch manager, they need to log on for duty with a particular asset. This can be done by long-pressing an asset or selecting the asset menu and logging on for duty. 

Once logged on for duty, the TG Mobile app becomes attributed entirely to the handling of dispatch request. It can be noticed that, apart from being able to interact with dispatch requests in the request queue, the only action a user can perform within the app is to log off duty.

Dispatch requests are received in the form of push notifications and are added to the assignee’s dispatch request queue upon reception of the notification. 

A dispatch assignee has the option either to accept or reject new dispatch requests.

When an assignee accepts the dispatch request, they can choose to begin the request or to leave it for later.

  • Upon beginning the request, the destination location is opened on the user’s native navigation application (i.e. Google Maps or Apple Maps). The user can then start navigating to that location.
  • If the request is left for later, the assignee will have options to begin the request or to reject it when they select it at a later stage.

    At any stage during a dispatch request that is in progress, the assignee can go back to TG Mobile and change the status of the dispatch request. They have options to mark the request as complete, pause the request or reject the request.

    • When marking a request as complete, the dispatch request is cleared from the assignee’s dispatch request queue.
    • When pausing a request, the dispatch request returns to the ‘Accepted’ state and can be resumed or rejected by the assignee. 

In the event that the dispatch assignee rejects a dispatch request at any point during the normal process flow, they will be prompted to supply an optional reason for rejection. Once the dispatch request is rejected, it will be cleared from the queue of dispatch request. 

If a dispatch request is cancelled by the dispatch manager at any time, the dispatch assignee is notified. When selecting the cancelled dispatch request, the assignee is shown a cancellation reason if one has been provided by the dispatch manager. The request is then cleared from the assignee’s dispatch request queue. 

Each time the dispatch assignee enters the mobile app while logged on for duty, their logon duration is refreshed. If a dispatch request assignee has not refreshed their logon status for more than 12 hours, they will be prompted either to refresh their logon status or to log off duty. In the event that they refresh their logon status, their existing dispatch requests will be cleared from the queue, as they will have been unassigned by the server at this point.

Did you find it helpful? Yes No

Send feedback
Sorry we couldn't be helpful. Help us improve this article with your feedback.