Recovery Mode is a one-touch feature designed to set the device into "live tracking" where it reports more regularly.
This is useful in trying to recover a stolen asset.
It works on both wired devices and battery powered devices. The details of how they behave in recovery mode may vary. The reporting frequency of battery powered devices can be configured under the Recovery Mode Setup tab of System Parameters in OEM.
Two important things to note:
a) Your data usage will increase dramatically until the Recovery mode is deactivated.
b) Battery life on the Remora will reduce quickly until the batteries are flat (up to 7 days depending where they are in the usage cycle), or until the Recovery Mode is deactivated.
Note: Recovery Mode can be deactivated manually or set to timeout.
In order to set Recovery Mode, an asyncronous message is sent to the device. Recovery mode will be activated when the device next connects in to the server, as explained in this article: Async Message Delivery
In order to activate Recovery Mode, you will require the Recovery Mode Manage permission.
How to activate Recovery mode on the tracking platform (TG):
Select Assets, then Manage Assets, select your asset, then go to Settings (the cog on the far right). Then select Enter Recovery Mode. See below:
You will be asked to verify to be certain.
Additionally you can set an expiry date for Recovery Mode. The default timeout will be 6 hours from when Recovery Mode is activated. The timeout can be set from 30 minutes to 24 hours for the device. The timeout is an absolute expiry time, rather than a time-span from when it was received by the device.
Note that the device needs a recent version of firmware to use this timeout feature. Older versions may stay in recovery mode, until it is deactivated or the batteries go flat.
- Dart: v1.17 and above.
- G60: v1.42 and above.
- G100: v1.14 and above.
- Oyster Cellular: v1.3 and above.
- Remora: v1.34 and above.
- Sting: v1.3 and above.
- G50, G52S: not supported.
In the Asset column you will now see it is active and offers Leave Recovery Mode if you would like to deactivate:
If the request has been accepted or is pending, you will see this message:
How do I activate Recovery Mode on the App?
Select the eye on the top right:
And it shows as active with the line no longer through the "eye" on the top right:
And if you want to reverse it, and Leave Recovery Mode, just click on the eye again: