It is important for partners to note that billing is according to Active Assets. An asset will be billed under the following conditions:
- An asset is active in an organisation in a given month,
- AND it has a serial number
- AND it has connected at least once after adding to the manage assets page.
Assets are typically billed for at the end of a calendar month - Telematics Guru is "post paid". Invoices can be expected in the first few days of the following month, for use of TG in the previous month.
This is regardless of whether the device connects to Telematics Guru in the month. This means that if the 3 conditions above are met, and the device does not connect in the month, it will still be billed for.
It is the partners responsibility to disable assets that are not used, or clear the a set data.
Disabling Billing on Assets in Telematics Guru
The first way to disable billing for assets in TG, is to disable the Asset from the Asset Management page
Or, clear the asset data. This is useful if the device has been tested before deployment. After testing, clear the data to set the last connected date to "never". This will not be billed for. Note that this will delete any history and it cannot be recovered!
Disable Billing on Assets in OEM Server
If an asset is still powered and operational, but disabled in TG, but the connector in OEM is still set to send data to Telematics Guru, the device will attempt to upload data to TG. It will fail (not receive a commit response) and store its data. If it is re-enabled in TG at a later date, all the historical data will be uploaded when it next connects.
To avoid this, set the connector to "None" in OEM by selecting the device and clicking on Device Operations and 'Set Connector' then type in or select "None"
This will allow the device to upload its data to OEM where it will be discarded.